Brand Aid A Social Media Reality Check: Time To Get Serious


May 6, 2009 at 7:00am ET by Joe Lovett

“Do you have a social media strategy?” I asked. “Absolutely,” she said. “Of course we’re doing social media. We’ve got a Facebook page!” If I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard a marketer say that, I’d be losing a lot less sleep during this economic crisis. It seems a day doesn’t go by that I don’t hear some marketer claim that they’re participating in social media just because they have a Facebook page, or because they are distributing and tagging photos on Flickr. But their perception is a tad off. While those tactics are valid, they don’t exactly equate to a social media strategy. Given that, some marketers need a reality check. It’s time they got serious with social media. Read entire article…

